Ruminations. (aka: Masticate This.)


Nerdiness, Thy Name Was Me
November 3, 2007, 1:28 pm
Filed under: school

Let it be known: I am nothing if not a giant nerd. This is made obvious by the fact that I have theme music from a number of different Star Trek series’ on my playlist. I am not ashamed of this. In fact, I am proud to be a nerd. So there.

My nerdiness was evident at an early age, and honestly, I’m pretty sure it’s hereditary. My grandmother has the entire Star Trek: The Next Generation series dubbed onto VHS. Seriously, my own condition was inevitable. My mother and I used to stay up through the night to watch all the Star Trek reruns (original, TNG, Voyager, DS9), as well as X-Files, First Wave, Earth: Final Conflict, The Twighlight Zone, and whatever else the Space channel ran. It was how we bonded.

When I got bored, which happened kind of often, because I finished all my schoolwork very quickly usually (the tribulations of being homeschooled, O, woe was I), I would read the encyclopedia. Or, I would walk down to the local library. I had a system. I started at the back, at the top shelf, and worked my way to the front, only skipping ridiculously dry books. I did read a number of how-to’s and nonfiction though. Eventually, I had to move out of the children’s section and into the adult’s section. The librarians loved me.

That particular library was across the street from an elementary school. By the time I was around 10, I was reading to the little kids who came over after school was out. I remember one little girl in particular, who I just adored. Her name was Sonia, and she was a sweetheart of a kid. I was always the first person she looked for, and we read a lot of books together.

These days, I’m so tired that I don’t find the same joy in learning that I did when I was a kid. I still find the information fascinating, but knowing that if I don’t remember it I will fail tests and ruin my future kind of puts a damper on the whole experience.

Here’s to getting back that excitement that I used to have.

Good luck to everyone undergoing midterms right now.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I thought being a nerd as a bad thing went out with the movie, Revenge of the Nerds back in the 1980s. In fact, it got so bad that then movies had to do, like, Legally Blonde, where the message is, it is okay to be one of the beautiful popular people. And, then comes the Internet and the Dot Com Millionaires. No, I think the days of being a Nerd as a bad thing are long gone. Don’t worry! Your a Nerd. It is a Good Thing.

Comment by BriteDay

Oh, I certainly don’t look at it as a bad thing. In fact, I really love being a nerd – it gives me so much to talk about!

You just know the nerds are going to be the only ones to survive come nuclear fallout. ^.^

Comment by ladybugged




Leave a Reply

