Ruminations. (aka: Masticate This.)


From the Trenches
September 7, 2007, 9:30 am
Filed under: school

Although the title of this post wouldn’t suggest it, I really do love being back in school. And I’m glad I’ve dropped to only 3 classes, because it’s going to take a load of stress off, so I can actually enjoy learning and learn well.

I had my first Introductory Microbiology and Immunology class yesterday. I was very pleased to find out that there is no lab homework and no final exam for the course. There are three in-term tests, one after each block of lectures (the first being microbiology, the second being immunology, and the third being bacteriology), and a holistic lab exam that will test on all the labs performed over the term.

I am hoping that this is not a Too Good To Be True(tm) moment, and that it will work for me and I will be able to get fantastical marks and bring my GPA up. If all else fails, at least I have more time to study.

Organic Chemistry started this morning. I think this one will be my hardest class, merely because Chemistry doesn’t like me and does like to kick my ass. I’m hoping that with one less subject to focus on I’ll be able to grasp the material better than I did with Intro Chem last year.

The prof seems interesting and lively enough to keep me awake during an eight-thirty class, which is really good, considering I have to leave my house at 6.25 to get there in time. Darn that two hour commute. Darn it. I have to go buy a lab manual and lab coat before my next class.

I start Genetics and Molecular Biology this afternoon. I don’t yet know how I feel about this one. It’s a subject I’m interested in, but it could be more difficult than I imagine. In fact, I imagine it is more difficult than I imagine. We’ll see how it goes.

More than anything, I’m really glad that labs don’t start right away, and that all my labs are in the end half of the week. Having the weekend plus Monday and Tuesday to finish up homework for my chemistry and genetics labs will be very helpful. I had a Monday morning lab last year for Chemistry, and it was brutal to not be able to get any last minute help.

I’ll send more word from the frontlines when I get it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

