Ruminations. (aka: Masticate This.)


Batten the Hatches! (aka: School is Coming)
September 3, 2007, 8:37 pm
Filed under: school

I don’t think I’ve ever felt as relieved about anything as I do about the fact that I don’t live in residence at school. I don’t have to deal with loud roommates or the people in the next room over. I don’t have to deal with drunken fools making a ruckus outside of my window or door at 3AM. I don’t have to worry about running out of food on a meal plan. I don’t have to leave half my stuff at home because it’ll never fit in the dorm room. I don’t have to share a teensy little cubicle with anyone else. (Although, Dalhousie University – which is the school I attend – actually only has one building that has double rooms, so chances are I’d end up without a roommate anyway. But that’s really besides my point.)

Living at home certainly has it’s disadvantages. I have to live with my two younger brothers, which I’ve done for the past eighteen years, but it hasn’t gotten any easier, I can tell you that much.

But, despite that (and more, believe me) I still am really glad I live at home rather than at school.

I get to stay in my good ol’ (cold, damp, basement situated) bedroom with my little girl’s tea set and my leopard print rug and my fishtank and my gigantic mirror and two closets. I don’t have to pay rent or go grocery shopping. I don’t have to cook besides helping with supper now and again or getting my lunch ready for the next day. I don’t get homesick. I don’t have to leave my Mommy and not get to see her for months at a time. (As much as she drives me nuts, I really am attached to the woman.)

I’ve decided to drop one of my courses, for a number of reasons. To begin with, I took only four classes per term last year, instead of five, because I felt it would give me a better chance to focus on the classes I did take, because my program is difficult, and I am certainly not a natural at it. In fact, I am probably the least natural Microbiologist to ever hit that University. I have nary a scientifically-inclined bone in this body, I just like to think that I can convert myself somehow. (Hair-pulling and stress-induced crying are two of my non-scientific-bone converting methods. They don’t work very well, though.)

Anyway. I was planning to do the same this year. However, taking into consideration that I will be working this year (Bombay hired me!), while last year I was not, and that my commute time grows because of that, as well as the loss of study time (though not by much as it’s only two shifts a week) I decided that it might be prudent to drop to three classes.

So I dropped Anthropology so that I could focus on the three “important” classes. And they all have labs, so it’s basically like taking six classes because each lab has it’s own homework, on top of the homework from lecture. Won’t this be exciting.

So, my schedule for the year looks something like this:

Fall (September-December)

  • Organic Chemistry: 8.30AM – 9.30AM, Mon.Wed.Fri
  • Genetics and Molecular Biology: 12.30PM – 1.30PM, Mon.Wed.Fri
  • Introduction to Microbiology and Immunology: 10AM – 11.30AM, Tues.Thurs
  • Genetics/MolecularBio Tutorial: 1.30PM – 2.30PM, Tues
  • Microbiology Lab: 2.30PM -5PM, Wed
  • Genetics/MolecularBio Lab: 2.30PM – 4.30PM, Thurs
  • Organic Chemistry Lab: 1.30PM – 4.30PM, Fri

So, I’m kind of thinking that dropping Anthropology was a good idea, because that’s still a pretty full schedule, and it’ll be a lot easier to work on those three subjects without having to read a million pounds of articles for Anthropology. I still plan on taking it, but not until next year. Next year I’ll take Virology, Anthropology, and English, or something. Get a few of the electives out of the way. This summer I think I may take German. And apparently “Classical Music Appreciation” is a popular bird course for science majors. It might be nice to take that one eventually, actually. Give me an excuse to listen to some more classical music.

All in all, I’m excited and nervous about school starting, and my new job at Bombay (I start tomorrow!). I really hope this year goes well. I can’t afford to fail any more courses, and I need to bring my GPA up, as it’s quite low right now (2.17, which is at least more than 50%, but still nothing to be proud about.) I want to apply for honours eventually, because I want to go on to graduate school, so I need half decent grades for that.

Hopefully, things will go well this year. It’ll take a lot of hard work, and a lot of tears, probably, but, here’s to a new year.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

