Ruminations. (aka: Masticate This.)


Knit two, purl two, knit… oh, damn, I lost a stitch…
August 30, 2007, 10:36 am
Filed under: arts

Knitting and I have a past. Every year, usually around September or October, I ask my mother to teach me how to knit. Every year she casts on for me and gets me going and I start knitting a scarf. Every year I lose interest, and never finish the scarf and promptly forget how to knit.

Two years ago I actually finished one! It was a Yule present for A, and my step-father’s sister-in-law helped me knit a matching hat. They’re actually quite nice, if a little plain and scritchy, thanks to cheap yarn.

Last year there was no knitting, but last year was weird on all counts because it was my first year of University and I was mostly stressed out over exams. But this year I am ready to go! I have discovered the wonder that is knitting patterns that are way cooler than scarves, and so I am setting out again!

I followed a link over at Fluid Pudding and found myself at the Knitty magazine. Some of those patterns are so cool, and I want to learn to knit them. So I dug out some of Mom’s knitting needles and some of her cheap yarn, because we’re all broke here and can only afford the crappy Wal-Mart yarn.

I have taken it everywhere with me. I was knitting in the theater the other day. I knit at work while I’m waiting for my ride. Unfortunately, I also drop stitches right, left, and center, and have therefor had to restart a few times, so I don’t have much to show for all my knitting except for cramping fingers.

But that’s okay, because it’s practice, and I need the practice. And I swear this year I won’t get bored and stop, because now I have a goal besides ‘scarf’. I want to knit these and these and this and this and these and, really, I could probably go on forever, but you may as well just go look at the ‘zine, because I want to make most of it.

In any case, here’s a late haiku for yesterday:

To the Dork at the Wal-Mart Parking Lot Who Laughed at me for Knitting
Go ahead: Laugh, ma’am.
When my projects are done, you
Will wish they were yours.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

